Ontario Golf Hall of Fame Members/Inductees

The Ontario Golf Hall of Fame was founded in the year 2000 by the Ontario Golf Association and the Ontario Ladies’ Golf Association to help perpetuate the memory and acknowledge the contributions and accomplishments made by Ontarians to the game of golf.

Here is a list Ontario Golf Hall of Fame inductees:

Year Name Notable Contributions & Accomplishments
2000 Allan George Balding The first Canadian to win a PGA Tour event. 4 Time
winner on the PGA Tour.
2000 Gayle Hitchens-Borthwick 2 Time US Senior Women’s Open Champ
(1996, 1998)
2000 Gordon Brydson The Legendary Mississaugua GCC Head Pro also played
Professional Hockey & Football
2000 Donald Day Carrick Was the youngest male golfer to ever
win a National Championship at 18 years of age (1925,
1927 Canadian Amateur)
2000 Gary Cowan The 9 Time Ontario Amateur champ also won the Canadian
Amateur in 1961
2000 George Cumming Paved the way for future Ontario
Head Professionals, Toronto Golf Club 1900-50, 1905
Canadian Open Champ
2000 Philip Farley The former RCGA & OGA President also was the Ontario
Amateur Champion 6 Times.
2000 R. Bruce Forbes As President of the RCGA he was largely
responsible for their move to Glen Abbey
2000 Richard Grimm The Legendary Dick Grimm was a former RCGA President
and Commissioner of the Canadian Tour
2000 Florence Harvey Founder and Organizing Secretary
of the Canadian Ladies’ Golf Union in 1913 (now the
Canadian Ladies Golf Association)
2000 Karl Keffer Head pro at Royal Ottawa GC (1911-1943), helped found
the CPGA
2000 George Knudson Knudsen’ sweet swing brought him
8 PGA Tour titles and a second place finish at Augusta
in 1969
2000 William Lamb Head Pro at Lambton GCC 1934-1964, won the CPGA Championship
5 Times
2000 George Seymour Lyon 8 time Canadian Amateur champ, he
remains the reigning Olympic Golf Champion winning Gold
in 1904
2000 Ada Mackenzie A 9 time Ontario and 5 time Canadian Ladies Amateur
2000 F.R.G. Martin 2 time Canadian Amateur champ, defeated
George S. Lyon in the 1910 competition
2000 Gail Harvey Moore Won the Ontario Ladies Amateur in 1959 and the Canadian
Ladies Amateur in 1970
2000 Murray (Moe) Norman The enigmatic Norman is considered
by many as the purest ball-striker the game has ever
2000 Claude Pattemore The 12 Time Canadian Blind Golfers Champion devoted
much of his life to helping others who have lost their
2000 Sandra Post Post won 9 times on the LPGA including
a major (LPGA Championship) in her rookie season
2000 Cathy Graham Sherk 2 time Canadian Ladies Amateur Champion, also won
the US Amateur in 1978
2000 Charles Ross Somerville Sandy Somerville became only the
second foreigh born player to claim the US Amateur in
1932, played in the first Masters Tournament
2000 Marlene Stewart-Streit Has won nearly every amateur title available including
the Canadian Amateur (11 times) and the US Amateur (1956)
2000 Stanley Thompson The legendary Thompson is considered
Canada’s foremost course designer having completed over
200 worldwide
2000 Murray Carlyle Tucker Past president of the CPGA, he was the first Canadian
to achieve Master Professional status in 1974
2000 Nick Weslock 4 Time Canadian Amateur champ was
the Low Amateur at the Canadian Open 16 times
2001 Katherine Helleur She was instumental in developing the first CLGA Senior
Ladies Amateur Golf Championship In 1971
2001 Gordon McInnis Sr. The Lookout Point Pro was a mentor
to the likes of Marlene Stewart-Streit, Cathy Sherk
and Moe Norman
2001 John Bryan Nash The London jeweller won 3 Ontario Amateurs in the
30s and 40s
2001 Ralph Reville Mr. Reville was the Founder, Publisher and Editor
of ‘The Canadian Golfer’, Canada’s first golf periodical
2002 Jerry Anderson An accomplished pro, Anderson the 1987 CPGA, was the
Canadian Tour Order of Merit winner 3 times and played
for Canada in 2 World Cups
2002 Ed Ervasti Had a wonderful amateur career including 3 Ontario
Senior Amateurs (71, 85, 87)
2002 Irv Lightstone Long time Maple Downs pro, Lightstone is a former
Ontario and Canadian Club professional of the Year
2003 Robert T. Gray Jr. Long time Pro at a number of Ontario Clubs, 4-time
CPGA champ and was runner up to Sam Snead at the 1941
Canadian Open
2003 Warren P. Sye One of Canada’s greatest amateur golfers, was a 5-time
Ontario Amateur winner and a 2-time Canadian Amateur
2004 Rick Fraser Golf journalist
2004 James Johnstone Noted player, head professional (Rosedale) and course
designer (Donalda)
2004 Bernard (Ben) Kern Accomplished player and one of Canada’s best ever
golf instructors
2005 R. Stewart Hamilton Achieved a number of significant wins on the provincial
and national stages, including 5 Canadian Mid-Amateur
2005 May-Jane Hall First woman Head Golf Professional in Canada
2005 Robert (Bob) Panasik Youngest player ever (15) to make the cut in a regular
Official PGA Tour Event (Canadian Open at Westmount
GC in 1957)
2005 George ‘Mac’ Frost Noted golf course superintendant and founding sponsor
of the Guelph Turfgrass Research and Information Centre
2006 James Barclay Golf historian
2006 Mary Ann Lapointe Four-time Canadian Amateur Champion
2006 Kelly Roberts Won back-to-back Ontario Amateur titles
2006 Lorne Robenstein Noted Golf Journalist – Globe and Mail – Golf Author
2007 Sue Hilton Noted amateur and Ontario Ladies champion
2007 Robbie Robinson Golf course architect
2007 Dick Borthwick Long time head professional inc. Hamilton GCC
2008 Lex Robson Distinguished player and head professional
2008 Lloyd Tucker Legendary teaching professional
2008 Gerry Kesselring 4 time Ontario Amateur champion
2009 George Clifton Noted GCPGA golf professional
2009 William (Bill) Morland Northern Ontario golf ambassador and winner more than 80 tournaments as stand-out amateur
2010 Mike Weir Considered Canada’s all-time greatest golfer, winner 2003 Masters
2011 Gar Hamilton Former PGA Tour player, noted golf professional at Mississaugua GCC
2011 Sam Young Long time CPGA golf professional
2012 Wally Crouter Radio legend and voice of CFRB 1010 (Lorne Rubenstein Award winner)
2012 Herb Page Esteemed golf coach
2012 Graham Cooke Decorated amateur golfer and noted golf architect
2012 Stephen Ross Former Executive Director of RCGA